top of page

Dil Bechara

Three days late because that's how much time it took me to digest Dil Bechara, and I'm still not over it. Where do I begin?

Each and every element of the film was made with utmost love and care and it shows.


When I first heard its music album, I found the songs good enough. But I had no idea they would become so beautiful when coupled with the film. 'Mein Tumhara' still keeps playing in my mind just like it did on and off throughout the movie. And yet, no words can possibly sum up how beautiful the song is. AR Rahman's music evokes emotions we didn't know we were capable of experiencing. It makes the happy scenes more lively and the heavy scenes more heart-felt.


Dil Bechara also launches two extremely talented artists. Sanjana Sanghi - for whom the movie isn't a debut but certainly a break through. She portrayed Kizzie in the most natural and human way possible. There was no OTT drama and Sanjana didn't overdo or underperform anywhere - a difficult feat to achieve but a true sign of a gifted actor. And Mukesh Chhabra. The man's got a knack for storytelling and is here to stay.

But I guess we all know who the star of the show is. Sushant Singh Rajput. He owns each scene he is in. Or maybe it was me, trying to focus only on him whenever he came onscreen, in an attempt to hold on to him while he's there. But whatever the case may be, Dil Bechara is a celebration of the versatile actor that Sushant was. Manny's live-in-the-moment and jovial nature brought life to Kizzie's mere existence and to the movie.


There's not a thing I would change about Dil Bechara. Maybe because it's too sacred now, but mostly because the movie is all that it promised to be. It is an emotional joyride, and whether you love it or not, it won't leave you for a long time.


P.S. : I am so glad the movie released digitally, away from the box-office competition and from the judgments people make about an actor's success and credibility based on those numbers.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page