top of page

Little Women: A Treasure To Be Cherished Forever

I know I’m quite late in the day but I finally got to reading Louisa May Alcott’s much acclaimed Little Women.


Whenever I searched for books to read, Little Women always popped up on the list. I had tried reading classics in the past but never really understood them, much less resonated with them (guilty as charged). And so, I was always double-minded about giving Little Women a try. But I finally did, and I’m glad for it.


What prompted me to read the book now, you ask? Well, its movie! Its film iteration by Greta Gerwig is all things love and is one of the few films that doesn’t disappoint its mother novel. What caught my eye at first was the stunning cast, I mean, who doesn't love Emma Watson and Timothée Chalamet? But the cast just turned out to be the cherry on the cake. Its heart and soul was the beautiful and touching story penned by Alcott.


Little Women is a touching tale


The film perfectly catches the essence of the book, and even though it was set in the 1800's, it felt completely relevant and relatable. The actors truly owned their characters and brought them to life.


After watching the movie, I was obsessed with the tale of the March sisters and knew it was high time I gave this classic a read, and what a beautiful journey it was.

Alcott’s writing is simple and genuine and it was so exhilarating to read about such strong female characters. Everyone can relate to at least one of the sisters - whether it’s the righteous and dutiful Meg, the rebellious and outspoken Jo, the shy and timid Beth or the precocious but tender-hearted Amy. Related by blood they were, but all four of them were so different from one another, and their eccentricity added many colours and shades to the story.


There are so many episodes I wish I could etch in my memory forever. Laurie’s bickering with the sisters, the instances where his blossoming feelings for Jo were subtly reflected, the sisters dwelling on their poverty only to realize they had a lot to be grateful for, their insightful conversations with Marmee and so much more made the tale of sisterhood a delight.


As much as the girls detested her, Aunt March too was a lively character and provided a good laugh. “I may not always be right, but I am never wrong” proved just how savage the old despotic lady was.


Little Women Jo and Laurie


Little Women may be a coming-of-age tale but its nuanced advices go well beyond time. The lessons - about how health, family and love make one richer than money ever could, how “work is a blessed solace” and how we have to discover and fight our evils - are timeless. The novel was ahead of its time then and has the power to enrapture audiences of all age, even after more than 150 years.


A perfect read during the lockdown, Little Women lifted my spirits while charging me with the will to be and do better.


Image Source : Pinterest



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page