top of page

Élite Review

Updated: Jul 15, 2020

It’s only been a couple days since I finished its third season and to say I am obsessed with it would be an understatement. Netflix has renewed it for two more seasons and I couldn't be more thrilled! The show is so addictive that I’ve even got its theme songs like ‘Forever’ stuck in my head!




The show first captured my attention because I recognized a few of its actors from Money Heist. Even though I am not a fan of dubbed serials (it takes me a while to get used to the off lip-sync), I decided to give it a try and before I knew it, I was hitting ‘next episode’ on autopilot. Élite had all the ingredients of a near perfect serial. There was romance, betrayal, clandestine crimes, friendship and all of this while highlighting relevant themes of religion, drugs, LGBTQ, power.


When it comes to the impeccable ensemble cast, the show falls in the league of serials like Gossip Girl and Vampire Diaries for me, where every actor is top notch. After a very long time, I found myself guilty of stalking the cast inside out on the internet. They were all such a wonder to watch and the fact that these actors are just in their early 20’s amuses me. These young stars were so convincing in their performances that I couldn’t even get myself to hate the bad guy (truth be told, he was my favourite). They did justice to their multi-layered roles and conveyed all their emotions, the vulnerability, guilt, helplessness and insecurities nakedly. The character arcs were compelling and perfectly completed. Some of the love stories may have seemed hasty but they still managed to give me butterflies.

The flash forward plot of this tale of lies and facades was intricately crafted. The pattern of showing snippets of the investigation and its discoveries from the night in question over the season and then finally connecting them all together in the last episode made Élite a gripping thriller.


The good for nothing detective often made the investigations lousy but the cast, the unique storyline and the brilliant writing were the serial’s propelling strengths. As the third season came to an end, the makers beautifully wrapped all the side stories and gave the viewers a sweet closure instead of leaving them hanging till the next season. Unlike most serials these days, this one had less number of episodes per season. Being someone who can’t watch very long series and gets bored midway, this worked perfectly for me.


I’m already looking for serials like Élite to fill its void, but for those of you who haven’t watched it yet, you know what to do!


Signing off with a little Spanish that I know - El show Élite tiene mi corazón.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page